FX 8350 with an AIO



FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 6:46 pm

Here's my last run at supe pi I know the V_core is high but WTF
Attachments
Capturepi.PNG
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby ShrimpBrime » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:20 pm

Not too shabby!

What Ram are you using?
ShrimpBrime

User avatar
L-A-N-M-2-D
L-A-N-M-2-D
 
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby ShrimpBrime » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:24 pm

Here try running this and see if you get a better time. (unless you already have it)
Attachments
BDC_R1.00B.zip
(755.79 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
ShrimpBrime

User avatar
L-A-N-M-2-D
L-A-N-M-2-D
 
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:42 pm

Ya I was using stiltz patch. The ram is G.Skill sniper 2133 cl11. Didn't have much time had to do a bios flash and lost all my settings. Tomorrow morning I'll try again. Thanks
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby ShrimpBrime » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:54 pm

Nice, I see a lot of people running G-Skill. Haven't tried a set yet.... but someday lolz

Look forward to seeing more :dance:
ShrimpBrime

User avatar
L-A-N-M-2-D
L-A-N-M-2-D
 
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Sat Jun 22, 2013 6:56 am

Tried another run this morning. Brought it down a tad but I'm at my limits. I'm gonna kill this thing if I don't get some water on it soon. Made it to 5393.25 on all cores with 1.68v. The G.Skill ram is nice I just need a tighter pair. I never intended on benchmarking, Just got bit.

Capturepi2.PNG
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby ShrimpBrime » Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:53 am

That's a decent chip if it's on air, but I also realize your loading just one core.

This is a bios posted clock, or are you using software once in windows?
ShrimpBrime

User avatar
L-A-N-M-2-D
L-A-N-M-2-D
 
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Sat Jun 22, 2013 11:33 am

No software that stuff is for sissys. This was all 8 cores it actually sees more stable that way. It's odd once I'm over 5 it runs better with all cores. This isn't exactly air it's a Thermaltake water 2.0 extreme AIO cooler, I'm surprised at how well it works. I'm hoping that if I can bring the temps down I'll be able to break 5.4. I did in the cooler months with less V_Core but barely. It needs a pretty hefty bump right there.
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Mr.Scott » Sat Jun 22, 2013 11:46 am

That TT extreme is a very good quality AIO for the money. Good choice. :smt023
Software is NOT for sissy's. A good bencher will boot as high as he can from the bios and then use software to bump it up further from Windows. :wink:
Give it a try.

Think outside the box.

Loved by thousands, hated by millions.


Mr.Scott

User avatar
Chief Engineer
Chief Engineer
 
Posts: 5583
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:07 am
Location: Spencerport NY

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Sat Jun 22, 2013 12:25 pm

You mean like AI suite or similar? I can give it a shot like I said still new to the benching thing. I was trying to be funny :smt039 guess that backfired
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby ShrimpBrime » Sat Jun 22, 2013 12:49 pm

Depends on the board and your preferences of software.

For Asus on particular boards, Turbo V and I also use AMD overdrive.

You can tighten your ram timings on the fly as well btw to get that better time as well.....

And people that OC video cards (almost always with software) are hypocrites if they don't OC the Cpu in the same fashion.

Gotta be forewarned though.... You can brick an OS just the same with software overclocking, just keep that in mind.

SSDs are really stable and reliable for blue screens and not killing an OS. Find a cheap 64gb SSD and don't bench on your daily drive.
ShrimpBrime

User avatar
L-A-N-M-2-D
L-A-N-M-2-D
 
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Bones » Sat Jun 22, 2013 12:58 pm

I can add that some systems won't clock but so high via the BIOS and software is needed to get it past a certain point.
An example I have is the Socket 775 ASRock board I have, only boots up at 242MHz or lower, anything set higher in the BIOS and it refuses to do anything but it's capable of over 400+ on the bus and takes OC'ing software to get it there. I don't know what's causing the FSB hole but the board itself can take an older chip and crank it. Luckily my 775 DFI works and I haven't noted a FSB hole with it yet, just a frustrating lack of RAM dividers that holds my FSB speeds down.
DFI Ultra II Infinity / XP-M 2800 IQYHA (2840MHz)
Abit NF7-S / XP2400+ T-Bred AIUHB @ 2719MHz
DFI LP UT NF4 Expert / X2 4200 Toledo LCBQE @ 311x11 (3421MHz)
DFI NF4X / Mobile A64 3700+ Newark @ 3203MHz
(R.I.P.) DFI NF4X Infinity / Ref clock @ 488.18MHz - #2 all time record for Socket 754 in the world


They have alot of stuff..... I have alot of junk.... And I mean lots of it....
Bones

User avatar
Dammit Jim!
Dammit Jim!
 
Posts: 4075
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:30 am
Location: One foot in the grave...

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Sat Jun 22, 2013 2:02 pm

I am suing a separate drive still with win8 but I'm still green. I never knew that about OC'ing with the software. I have a couple stumbling blocks at boot maybe see if this helps. NB stuck at 2750 ish and FSB is 305. Thanks for all the pointers guys. I'm just installing now and wanna try just one core again . I'll try bringing it up slower this time.
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Antinomy » Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:59 pm

ShrimpBrime wrote:are hypocrites if they don't OC the Cpu in the same fashion.
An unknown synonym for being lame? :mrgreen:

Though I did get Johan45's joke from the start.
ShrimpBrime wrote:don't bench on your daily drive.
This!
Johan45 wrote: I never knew that about OC'ing with the software.
That's what we're here for. Always can ask.
Bones wrote:just a frustrating lack of RAM dividers that holds my FSB speeds down.
Intel chipset should have dividers starting from 1:1 and up to 1:2. Is 1:1 not low enough for you? What conditions (settings, CPU, memory) do you run it at? It's the P965 board, right?
Antinomy

User avatar
Benchmark Bruiser
Benchmark Bruiser
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:28 am
Location: Vladivostok, Russia

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Bones » Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:17 pm

Antinomy wrote:Intel chipset should have dividers starting from 1:1 and up to 1:2. Is 1:1 not low enough for you? What conditions (settings, CPU, memory) do you run it at? It's the P965 board, right?



That's correct, it's the P965 board.
I know if I had some better RAM that would help but the extra divider would make a world of difference regardless.

The P43DE3 has the extra divider but has that FSB hole plus you did say the P43 chipsets are limited anyway and this one walled right where you said it would.
DFI Ultra II Infinity / XP-M 2800 IQYHA (2840MHz)
Abit NF7-S / XP2400+ T-Bred AIUHB @ 2719MHz
DFI LP UT NF4 Expert / X2 4200 Toledo LCBQE @ 311x11 (3421MHz)
DFI NF4X / Mobile A64 3700+ Newark @ 3203MHz
(R.I.P.) DFI NF4X Infinity / Ref clock @ 488.18MHz - #2 all time record for Socket 754 in the world


They have alot of stuff..... I have alot of junk.... And I mean lots of it....
Bones

User avatar
Dammit Jim!
Dammit Jim!
 
Posts: 4075
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:30 am
Location: One foot in the grave...

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 8:42 am

Ok gave it another run this morning, usually only good for one after that things get warm and uncooperative. Taking your advice I used Turbo V and did manage to squeeze a few more Hz out of it. This was a single core run and managed to hit 5469.27. There's still something holding it back. Ram or IMC I'm thinking. If I drop the ram speed down would that help? I realize that prime runs mostly on the chip and speed is the key! Here's a pic. I'm still in 19th place with the 8350 only gained .08s. I had to drop the fsb to get the higher clocks, that's why I'm leaning towards the ram/IMC as the culprit.

Capturepi4.PNG


Thanks for the pointers guys I do appreciate it.
I do also use Nvidia inspector to OC my GFX cards. I probably should post my system at some point shouldn't I?
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby ShrimpBrime » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:26 am

The temps hold you back.... Cooler temps lower voltage more horse power......

If you chilled the loop, probably squeeze out more. These chips like it really cool. Sub zero usually gets most chips to 6ghz and beyond.

I think your just at the limit with that Cpu. My 8320 does 5.4ghz respectively on tap water and all cores running 1.65v'ish.
ShrimpBrime

User avatar
L-A-N-M-2-D
L-A-N-M-2-D
 
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 2:30 pm

You're probably right. It's funny tho I bump the HT ref by 1 and the whole thing just locks. Someone just gave me an old laptop gonna see if I can use the serial# off it for a copy of Vista. I just can't figure out What version it is.
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby ShrimpBrime » Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:04 pm

Johan45 wrote:You're probably right. It's funny tho I bump the HT ref by 1 and the whole thing just locks. Someone just gave me an old laptop gonna see if I can use the serial# off it for a copy of Vista. I just can't figure out What version it is.


This may be from a few different things.... IE:

Last night ran the HT from the stock divider. These boards tend to lower it linked to 2200mhz with the NB. To me this is bull sh!t.

Had mine running 3100mhz HT and the NB was around 2800+ mhz keeping the 400mhz difference.

Hyper Transport link being that high does little, it's the NB speed you want to really work on. That and Ram timings.

Info: Hyper Transport if a support link for multiple Cpu platforms. Since FX doesn't use more than one socket per board, a HT clock of 1800mhz will be the same performance as 2800mhz and so on. One cpu can not utilize all that bandwidth. When HT was 3.0 Now 3.1 or 2 the HT could not go higher than the NB. Nor did it need to. On 7 series chipsets, a NB freq of 3000mhz is pretty common. On FX with 9 series people have a hard time with this...... I have not so far. I've ran my FX and NB speeds way up there keeping some stability with benchmarking even past 3ghz NB. It just takes time and work getting the system to like it. A little at a time is the only key. I've only had a couple of boards that posted 3ghz right off the first setting and that was with Phenom II processors.

The bump in reference clock and the stopping is probably the memory divider/memory controller. your HT/NB links are too low to consider that a problem... Don't be scared to run RAM voltage up. I've run well past 1.9v running 1200mhz+ for benching. But all cpus are different and so is the Ram.
ShrimpBrime

User avatar
L-A-N-M-2-D
L-A-N-M-2-D
 
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: FX 8350 with an AIO

Postby Johan45 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 7:41 pm

There's a couple things you say that ring true. I just noticed that the ram was at 1.65 when I usually have it .1 higher for this. Also the aHT NB relationship I have wondered more than once why at stock it's higher that the NB BUT I USUALLY RUN THEM THE SAME AND BELIEVE ME I've TRIED MAGIC TO GET OVER 2800. oOPS CAPS. Any way I'll try the HT over that might be the key. And when I try something new I step it up to see how it reacts, get a "feel" for it. That way when I need it I've gat a pretty good Idea how to set it up. I just re-flashed the bios recently and my everyday setting is right at my fingertips. The rest went with the flash.
CPU : AMD FX 8350/FX-6350/FX-9370 Mobo : ASUS Sabretooth R2.0
Cooler : Koolance 380A cool water and a 700GPH fish pond pump.
Ram : 2x4 Gb Gskill Sniper 2133@2000 /Video : 2 ASUS GTX 580 CU II SLI @ 950/2280
SSD : Kingston HyperX 240 Gb/OS : Win8 Pro
Case : LianLi PCA-71B /PSU : Leadex SuperFlower 1K Platinum

PIIx4 965@ 3.9, CM Hyper 212, ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
, 2x8 Gb Geil DDR3 1600, Radeon HD 6850, Win7 Pro
HTPC: Phenom 9850, M3NHT Deluxe 4Gb Geil 1066
Johan45

User avatar
how do you turn this #$&*% on
how do you turn this #$&*% on
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Next

Return to Post Your Overclocks



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest